IUB (120k) vs. University of Arizona(instate - 48k)?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
sab0tage

IUB (120k) vs. University of Arizona(instate - 48k)?

Postby sab0tage » Wed Feb 23, 2011 3:54 am

The above are my two top choices and likely will remain so. Still waiting on apps from ASU, UMN and Wisconsin.

Numbers – 3.22, 166

Some considerations…
I think the pretty clear choice here based solely off of the rankings would be IUB. I had never really given much thought to living in Indiana but see no reason why I wouldn't enjoy it. U of Arizona was my top choice from the beginning but IUB suprised the hell out of me with this offer. Tucson is my hometown, I have not lived there for a few years but I would seriously enjoy moving back. I work as a process server in Phoenix currently and might be able to use some of attorneys I currently serve papers for into potential contacts for future job ops. In terms of tuition I would be paying more to attend U of A(about 4k more a year I think) than a higher ranked school in IUB.

Is there anything else I should consider? I was thinking Arizona might be a less saturated/competitive market than some of the Midwest cities IUB typically places in. Am I correct in supposing this? What is the best means of determining how grads are doing? I read a lot of references to OCI numbers. Are these published by any kind of central institution or are available from individual schools websites.

Also, do you think I would get anywhere trying to leverage IUB’s scholly with Arizona?

Any feedback/discussion would be appreciated.

nshapkar

Re: IUB (120k) vs. University of Arizona(instate - 48k)?

Postby nshapkar » Wed Feb 23, 2011 3:56 am

sab0tage wrote:The above are my two top choices and likely will remain so. Still waiting on apps from ASU, UMN and Wisconsin.

Numbers – 3.22, 166

Some considerations…