U of Washington (Seattle) vs. Boston College

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
lincolnadams74

U of Washington (Seattle) vs. Boston College

Postby lincolnadams74 » Mon Feb 21, 2011 5:12 am

I'm comparing offers from the University of Washington and Boston College. Currently no financial aid offers. UW is cheaper, but I have my family to help me with tuition either way. I don't consider myself Christian, but I am fine with the fact that BC is a Catholic school. BC is also ranked slightly higher than UW, for whatever that's worth.

In general terms, I want to become a corporate lawyer or an attorney at a private firm. Obviously, I want a starting salary as high as possible after graduation. I am not sure what specific kind of lawyer I want to become (civil disputes, contracts, IP, etc). I am still learning about all the different branches of the law and the different types of lawyers.

I am definitely interested in computers and technology, and I have been told that UW might be a better choice because of its purported link to all the tech firms (computer and software manufacturers, Internet companies, social media, etc.) that have offices in Seattle. Admittedly, I would enjoy working for such companies.

However, I am hesitant to choose a school based on specialty (in this case, technology law, if that is even a true hallmark of UW) because I just don't know what I want to specialize in right now. I would prefer to live and study in Boston rather than Seattle (though I could be convinced otherwise), and my initial impression is that BC would be a better choice if I am not sure what specific kind of lawyer I want to become.