First post. Please help me choose!!

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
QOTSA

First post. Please help me choose!!

Postby QOTSA » Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:50 pm

I have been trolling this board for about a year and a half and figure it’s time I speak up. I received 11/11 rejections last year :( (155, 3.4) and have since raised my stats (162 3.4). Thus far, I have three decisions and have been accepted to U Miami w/ TBA, USD w/ TBA, and Lewis and Clark w/ $11,000. I earned my degree in accounting and feel Tax Law may be a good niche for me. I live in the Pacific NW and love it here. I have lived in So-Cal and love It there. I know very little about Miami and am hesitant, although not completely opposed, to choosing a school that likely places only within Florida. I know without full scholly info, decision making may be premature. However, I want to start making these decisions early so someone having a cycle like I did last year might get a shot.
1) Do highly ranked Tax Law programs allow for regional portability?
2) Are the employment benefits of a schools Tax program limited to an LLM?
3) Is a highly ranked Tax Program important?
4) What would you do?

Grizz

Re: First post. Please help me choose!!

Postby Grizz » Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:57 pm

Miami won't get you far outside of South FL, and it doesn't do that well there, because UF is just as prestigious. Plus a lot of people from prestigious schools come back. Don't go unless you get a full tuition scholarship.

Also specialty rankings are totally worthless. Don't pay any attention to them. They do NOT correlate to prestigious or high-paying employment.

Don't know much about Lewis and Clark, but from what I do know, $11,000 over 3 yrs. is not enough money that you should consider it.

QOTSA

Postby QOTSA » Mon Feb 07, 2011 8:01 pm

Thanks, L&C is offering me $11,000 per year with a 3.0 GPA stipulation.

gbpackerbacker

Postby gbpackerbacker » Mon Feb 07, 2011 8:02 pm