The Texas T4 Face Off Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
afrogod3@yahoo.com

New

The Texas T4 Face Off

Post by afrogod3@yahoo.com » Wed Feb 02, 2011 8:12 pm

I have been weighing pros and cons for quite a while now and would appreciate some outside perspectives.

I have been accepted to St. Mary's in San Antonio and Thurgood Marshall in Houston. I've a 155 and 3.05, military experience, career experience, etc.

I am having trouble deciding between the two school since last Friday TM informed me that they were offering me a free ride scholarship where SM is offering 7k off of their 27k/yr tuition.

I have 15 months left of my GI Bill making my first year at St. Mary's free. As a disabled veteran, I qualify for a VA benefit which will make my 2nd year (mostly) free, leaving my 3rd year to finance personally.

The TM route would allow the first year free with scholarship (possibly extended with a 3.0 after 1L, but uncertain considering their "unique" curve), the 2nd year free with GI bill, and the third free with VA benefit for disabled vets provided i do not re-qualify for the scholarship.

So, is Thurgood Marshall THAT bad? Any and all advice would be welcome! thanks!!

BarbellDreams

Gold

Re: The Texas T4 Face Off

Post by BarbellDreams » Wed Feb 02, 2011 8:14 pm

Is it THAT bad? Yes, you should probably retake.

However, if it is absolutely free and you realize just how bad the job prospects are coming out of it so as not to simply waste 3 years of your life then by all means...

bk1

Diamond

Post by bk1 » Wed Feb 02, 2011 8:17 pm

BarbellDreams wrote:Is it THAT bad? Yes, you should probably retake.

However, if it is absolutely free and you realize just how bad the job prospects are coming out of it so as not to simply waste 3 years of your life then by all means...
I'm not necessarily sure whether retake/reapply is actually the best bet with only 15 months left on the GI bill.

BarbellDreams

Gold