Minnesota/Wisconsin Job Market

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
dpb081

Minnesota/Wisconsin Job Market

Postby dpb081 » Tue Jan 25, 2011 3:20 am

Looking to stay in the Minnesota/Wisconsin area and I'm an older student with a family, so debt is a big consideration for me.

I'm considering major scholarships from all three of MSP's third tier schools, (St. Thomas, Hamline, William-Mitchell) and am waiting to hear back from the UofM, UW-Madison, and Iowa.

So a) is there a big difference between the three third tier schools when it comes to job prospects in the MSP area, do any of the three stand out, and b) how would you decide between T20's like the ones above and major scholarships to third tier schools?

minnbills

Re: Minnesota/Wisconsin Job Market

Postby minnbills » Tue Jan 25, 2011 9:56 pm

Of the three you mentioned WM is definitely the stand out. I think it's TT now by the way. WM proponents are usually quick to point out that there are more Mitchell graduates in the Minnesota judiciary than from any other school. That said, employment prospects are still really tough in MSP. From what I understand, there isn't much of a biglaw market here and grads from all schools are struggling. The genearal pecking order for MSP is: UMN, WM, and a tie between UST/Hamline.

UST is a really new school with a lot of financial backing. However, it's supposedly quite conservative. I spent my freshman year of undergrad there and did not enjoy the experience because of the biased curriculum. I couldn't say what the experience in law school is like there though. Some lawyers I've talked to (older, established ones) are upset with UST for crowding the market.

For what it's worth, I have an aunt who is a corporate executive (former legal dept.) at a major corporation here in the TC who told me they just hired a bunch of new Hamline grads, so you can definitely get jobs from anywhere. But getting a job at an actual firm is no small task.