Questions from a Canadian Applicant

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
dec_failure

Questions from a Canadian Applicant

Postby dec_failure » Sun Jan 23, 2011 5:00 pm

Hi everyone,

I've been researching different law schools quite a bit, and I just had a few questions if anyone is nice enough to help me out. I graduated from the university of toronto, likely one of the most difficult undergraduate Canadian institutions to do well in. They're notorious for screwing over their students who wish to go into professional programs. Either way, I graduated the school with a 3.26. My first year was really bad, but since then it's streadily improved. My GPA without my first year is a 3.5, my best two years are a little over 3.7 (84%). I've taken the LSAT a few times. My highest score is 157. I've been given permission to write it again in February, which is pretty late in the admissions cycle I understand.

I was just wondering if American law schools drop any of your worst credits or look mostly at your last 2 years? In Canada, most schools drop 15/25% of your worst credits, look exclusively at your last 2, or look at everything but pay particular attention to your last 2 and LSAT for cutoff purposes. I just paid for the Credential Assembly Service, and I'm going to request that my school send my transcripts out tomorrow morning. However, I'm concerned that law schools will only consider my cGPA.