T14 vs. UT Austin w/out Houston/Dallas

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
niederbomb

T14 vs. UT Austin w/out Houston/Dallas

Postby niederbomb » Fri Jan 21, 2011 8:03 am

I am a Texas resident, and I expect to get into UT pretty soon (numbers well above medians).

I am from Longview, TX, near Shreveport, LA, and I'm a bit torn between staying in Texas/leaving for a T14 that places well in NYC or DC (my ideal place to work). If I were to stay in Texas as my family wishes me to do, I would want to work in Austin or San Antonio, preferring to avoid Dallas and Houston (especially Houston) at all costs.

Unfortunately, I've heard that you need ties to the area, not just ties to the state, to get a Big Law job in my two favorite Texas cities. What has everyone heard about this?

This is a pretty important decision because I applied to the T14 too late, so if I don't take Texas this cycle, I will probably have to wait until next year to apply to better schools. I'll probably attend MVP or C with over $100K in debt as opposed to Texas almost free (with the Hazlewood Act). Taking on debt is worth not having to live in Houston, though. Advice please?

thickfreakness

Re: T14 vs. UT Austin w/out Houston/Dallas

Postby thickfreakness » Fri Jan 21, 2011 9:32 am

If you don't want to work in Houston or Dallas, going to UT over a T14 seems like a really poor decision.

Law Sauce

Postby Law Sauce » Fri Jan 21, 2011 9:35 am

Texas is still a great school, and especially to go to cheaply. if you go there you will be able to find something that you like, if not at first, eventually. I mean its not t14, but it is 15! we arent talking about smu.

thickfreakness

Postby thickfreakness » Fri Jan 21, 2011 9:37 am

Law Sauce wrote:Texas is still a great school, and especially to go to cheaply. if you go there you will be able to find something that you like, if not at first, eventually. I mean its not t14, but it is 15! we arent talking about smu.