Chicago IP - Indiana, Illinois, Michigan?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
fire_72

Chicago IP - Indiana, Illinois, Michigan?

Postby fire_72 » Thu Dec 30, 2010 10:27 am

I'm a prospective law student that would like to practice IP law in Chicago (probably patent prosecution - and before anyone asks: Yes, I have the proper background). If I strike out in Chicago, Indianpolis would be my second choice. Here are my options (so far...):

-Indiana (w/ ~0-10k total debt) -
Very happy to get a full tuition scholly here, but I'm worried that it will be tough to break into Chi. I've heard that there are a lot of IP people here and that some Chicacgo IP-only firms attent OCI (can anybody confirm this?).

-Illinois (w/ ~30-45k debt) -
Illinois definitely places well in Chicago (although I havn't heard anything about IP). I definitely like this option, but the question is: is Illinois $30-40k better than Indiana? I might try to use IU to leverage a little more out of UI.

-Michigan (w/ ~120-130k debt)
While most would agree that UM is a step above the other two, it's also much more expensive. I just don't know if I can stomach that much debt. However, if cost wasn't an issue, I'd probably say that UM is my "dream school".

I've been a long time lurker of TLS, and I've always found it interesting that so many people are so willing to go so far into debt to go to a top school. I don't necessary think that is the wrong decision, but I believe debt should be taken seriously and considered carefully. Let me know what you all would do in my situation.

Thanks!

krad

Re: Chicago IP - Indiana, Illinois, Michigan?

Postby krad » Thu Dec 30, 2010 10:52 am

fire_72 wrote:I'm a prospective law student that would like to practice IP law in Chicago (probably patent prosecution - and before anyone asks: Yes, I have the proper background). If I strike out in Chicago, Indianpolis would be my second choice. Here are my options (so far...):