DU vs. CU Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
chrisbru

Gold

DU vs. CU

Post by chrisbru » Tue Dec 21, 2010 12:59 pm

Hey TLS,

I'm currently debating between Minneapolis and Denver areas for where I want to go to school/practice. I've already figured out what my plan is if I pick Minneapolis, but I'm leaning heavily towards CO (this week, at least!) Would anyone be willing to compare DU and CU for me? I know that CU ranks higher, but what about actual hiring prospects, competitiveness, quality of life, etc?

Capitol A

Silver

Re: DU vs. CU

Post by Capitol A » Wed Dec 22, 2010 1:14 am

I have no first hand knowledge, but considered both schools as well, and just looking at the employment stats of each, there is really no comparison. CU is MUCH stronger. Not only that, but sticker is much lower (of course, if CU is an option, you will get scholarship at DU). I also think CU degree is more (albeit slightly) portable. If both are options, and the money is not a deal breaker, I don't think its even close, I'd go with CU.
Of course, all this is if you're okay with living in Boulder rather than Denver. The difference between those 2 you will have to see for yourself to decide. Personally, I'd never live in Boulder, but would LOVE Denver.

EricBerry

Bronze

Post by EricBerry » Wed Dec 22, 2010 2:54 am

Capitol A wrote:I have no first hand knowledge, but considered both schools as well, and just looking at the employment stats of each, there is really no comparison. CU is MUCH stronger. Not only that, but sticker is much lower (of course, if CU is an option, you will get scholarship at DU). I also think CU degree is more (albeit slightly) portable. If both are options, and the money is not a deal breaker, I don't think its even close, I'd go with CU.