Delay school? Or start then Transfer?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
mayawinks

Delay school? Or start then Transfer?

Postby mayawinks » Fri Dec 17, 2010 7:27 pm

I'm a military spouse so can't just pick up and leave to attend the law school of my choice. Currently I'm in Seattle. I want to attend Law School on East Coast (Boston/DC - G'town is current fav)

The Question: Do I start Law school at U of Washington - Seattle for 1L and then apply as a transfer student to the East Coast? Or do I wait an extra year until we move in order to apply direct to G'Town and others??

I'm late 20s so I'm in-between a non-traditional and traditional age range. I have a Master's from London School of Economics. Law is a bit of a career change for me so I don't want to wait too long.

My other concern: I think I can get into DC/Boston direct with my current numbers. I'm positive I can get into UW. But UW is so much lower on the rankings, am I spoiling my chances at DC/Boston by trying to apply as transfer student from such a 'lower' school? (All this assumes I am able to be top 10-15% during 1L at UW)

Numbers: 3.9GPA, Practice LSAT 165 - I'm shooting for 170 on the real thing.

bk1

Re: Delay school? Or start then Transfer?

Postby bk1 » Fri Dec 17, 2010 7:29 pm

Don't transfer, wait to apply.

AreJay711

Postby AreJay711 » Fri Dec 17, 2010 7:48 pm

bk1 wrote:Don't transfer, wait to apply.

+1

mayawinks

Postby mayawinks » Fri Dec 17, 2010 7:52 pm

Thanks for input.

I assume this means you would also agree with the idea that it won't matter if I graduate at 29, 30 or 31? (i.e. one of the consequences of waiting)

bk1

Postby bk1 » Fri Dec 17, 2010 7:53 pm

I'll expand just to be clear. The reason transferring is a bad idea is because it is hard to predict/guarantee meaning you may not get in and be stuck at UDub. Also, you may not do well at UDub and transferring might be difficult, leaving you in a bad situation.