A couple questions

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
thinktank1990

A couple questions

Postby thinktank1990 » Wed Dec 08, 2010 9:55 pm

I'm a sophomore history major, starting to get really focused on preparing myself for law school. A couple questions I had:

Is there a source of information I can go to somewhere detailing the various strengths and weaknesses of different law schools (i.e., schools which would be particularly good if I want to specialize in a particular area of law)?

Does anyone have any advice on residency status? Specifically: I'm originally from Texas, getting my BA in Pennsylvania; now I"m looking at a couple law schools in Pennsylvania (specifically U Pitt and Penn State, possibly Villanova). Are those four years in PA enough to establish residency, or will I need to do more?

Thanks!

NZA

Re: A couple questions

Postby NZA » Wed Dec 08, 2010 11:19 pm

thinktank1990 wrote:I'm a sophomore history major...

History is a nightmare from which I am trying to awake.

thinkshouldbetankedifyou'remajoringinhistory wrote:...starting to get really focused on preparing myself for law school. A couple questions I had:

In order to prepare for preparing for law school, see here:

http://www.aa.org/

thinktank1990 wrote:Is there a source of information I can go to somewhere detailing the various strengths and weaknesses of different law schools (i.e., schools which would be particularly good if I want to specialize in a particular area of law)?

There is a database full of information, as a matter of fact! It's called the Internet! :D And you have found it.

In all seriousness, TLS actually does have some pretty interesting/good profiles of different law schools (click on the Law School Top 100 rankings, and then you can see the profile for each of the schools). I found it honestly did have some of the better info out there.

Talk with practicing attorneys, too, if you have the chance. Even if they're old.