USC or UW with $$$ vs T14 @ sticker

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
lisjjen

USC or UW with $$$ vs T14 @ sticker

Postby lisjjen » Tue Nov 30, 2010 4:02 pm

The title sums it up. I want to practice in the Northwest or So Cal. I know that I could take a T14 degree back to the NW, but then again, UW or USC could be a legitimately enjoyable experience, and if I graduated with half the debt, it's that much sooner you can start putting equity into a house, saving for your kid's college, etc.

Are the career prospects in the region that much stronger from say, Michigan or Duke than they would be from USC or UW?

P.S. Berkley and Stanford are out.

Curry

Re: USC or UW with $$$ vs T14 @ sticker

Postby Curry » Tue Nov 30, 2010 4:46 pm

Do you have $$$ at USC too? If not, then T14. If so, then if you are 100% sure you wanna stay in SoCal, USC. Don't go to UW.

bdubs

Postby bdubs » Tue Nov 30, 2010 4:54 pm

Where do you get the idea you will get money at UW? Judging from LSN they give out very few scholarship offers.

USC appears to max out scholarships at $75k which is a bit less than 50% of COA.

I would probably take the T14 for the mobility. Neither of those options looks particularly great. You MIGHT be able to get money at Michigan with your #s, I would say that would be preferable to both.

lisjjen

Postby lisjjen » Tue Nov 30, 2010 7:02 pm

bdubs wrote:Where do you get the idea you will get money at UW? Judging from LSN they give out very few scholarship offers.

USC appears to max out scholarships at $75k which is a bit less than 50% of COA.

I would probably take the T14 for the mobility. Neither of those options looks particularly great. You MIGHT be able to get money at Michigan with your #s, I would say that would be preferable to both.

Great is a relative term. I know people who would kill to get into either of those but are stuck in the TTT. I understand how great of an oppurtunity Michigan-esque schools are, but $180,000 in debt?