Texas and job placement

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
irenic

Texas and job placement

Postby irenic » Fri Nov 19, 2010 12:05 am

If finances are a consideration and practicing in the state of Texas is your preference (but not an obsession), what would be the best choice between schools such as University of Arkansas-Fayetteville, University of New Mexico, LSU, University of Denver, Texas Tech, and South Texas assuming you do not get into the top 4 in Texas? Furthermore, is biglaw even a possibility with ANY of these schools if you're willing to stay in their respective areas? I am a Texas resident so out of state tuition would be a consideration with several of the above mentioned schools. Thanks for any input.

ggocat

Re: Texas and job placement

Postby ggocat » Fri Nov 19, 2010 12:25 am

Tech. No reason to go out of state unless you're going to a top school or getting a better deal (i.e., scholarship). Unless you get a scholarship to STCL or must work in Houston, I think Tech is a better choice because of the lower cost ($10k/year) and slightly better job prospects.

irenic

Postby irenic » Fri Nov 19, 2010 12:27 am

ggocat wrote:Tech. No reason to go out of state unless you're going to a top school or getting a better deal (i.e., scholarship). Unless you get a scholarship to STCL or must work in Houston, I think Tech is a better choice because of the lower cost ($10k/year) and slightly better job prospects.

Would it be better to go to Tech than pay sticker at SMU or Baylor in your opinion? I'd love to go to University of Houston, but unfortunately I am a reach for that school.

ggocat

Postby ggocat » Fri Nov 19, 2010 12:46 am

irenic wrote:
ggocat wrote:Tech. No reason to go out of state unless you're going to a top school or getting a better deal (i.e., scholarship). Unless you get a scholarship to STCL or must work in Houston, I think Tech is a better choice because of the lower cost ($10k/year) and slightly better job prospects.