Dilemma..

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
nStiver

Dilemma..

Postby nStiver » Thu Nov 04, 2010 3:54 pm

So, I am a splitter with a relatively low GPA and a 164 LSAT. I retook in October but did not get the 170+ score that I hoped for, and now my options are severely limited. I am a New Mexico resident, and have lived here all my life. I do not necessarily want to stay in NM, but if that is what I have to do, I will do it.

I have now lost any possibility of getting scholarship money to go to any 2nd law schools in the Pacific North West, my original plan. Even if I do get accepted to anywhere in Oregon or Seattle, I will have to pay full price, which is upwards of 30k a year, plus living expenses. I do not want to graduate with a quarter million dollars of student loan debt. However, the starting salaries of students from schools like Lewis and Clark and University of Oregon seem to be much higher, like in the 100K range (supposedly).

On the other hand, as a NM resident, I can get into UNM easily. Also, the tuition for in-state students is a hell of a deal: $13,660 a year. I was surprised to see that UNM was ranked above UofO and just a few places behind L&C. However, the starting salaries for UNM graduates is way below the 100k mark, more like 50-60k. That aside, the cost of living in NM is low, and UNM grads have great access to the legal market in the state. There are also loan forgiveness programs for lawyers willing to take PD jobs, etc.

Another drawback to going to UNM is to be chained to the sate of New Mexico for the rest of my life. I suppose it would be possible to land a job in another state if I really hustle and get a decent amount of experience in NM, but that is no guarantee. I am married, and I know that my wife does not want to live in NM for the rest of our lives, nor do I.