LSAT higher than GPA (160/2.8)..? Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
capnb

New

LSAT higher than GPA (160/2.8)..?

Post by capnb » Sat Oct 16, 2010 2:48 pm

Any suggestions on which law schools I should consider?
I graduated Dec '09 from Univ of FL:
Anthropology major, Business Administration minor
(Staff Accountant at a CPA firm since Jan of this year)
My low GPA [2.8] is due to some medical issues my first two years. My junior/senior years went much better- mostly As. My highest LSAT is 160 (my first was 153).
[These are some of the random things I've done that will be worked into my personal statement and resume and whatnot: FL Archaeology Field School, Summer Abroad at Univ of Mannheim, Germany, DC Political Activism (Amnesty International), AKP (International Professional Business Fraternity), Human Rights Awareness on Campus, P2P Alumnus, Local High School Finance Academy Advisory Board Member]

So basically...LSAT 160, UF Anthropology 2.8 (med issues), and some extracurricular activities.
States I'm considering: FL, CA, CO, MI, IL, IN, VA, MA, NY (basically FL, CA, CO or various northeastern locations).

Some schools I'm considering:
FL: Florida International, Stetson, Univ of Miami
CA: Chapman, Golden Gate, Santa Clara, Southwestern, Univ of Pacific, Univ of San Francisco, Whittier
CO: Univ of Denver
IN: Indiana Univ- Indianapolis
IL: John Marshall, Southern IL, Northern IL
NY: Syracuse, Albany, Pace
MI: Michigan State
MA: New England Law

Diamond

Re: LSAT higher than GPA (160/2.8)..?

Post by 09042014 » Sat Oct 16, 2010 3:30 pm

I wouldn't go unless you can go for free. So apply low and see if you can get a fullride somewhere. Drop out if your scholly gets taken away.

This might be hard, because even Cooley won't give you a full ride.

capnb

New

Post by capnb » Sat Oct 16, 2010 3:51 pm