3.1, 168, good work experience/softs: Where to apply?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
ohfourteen_esq

3.1, 168, good work experience/softs: Where to apply?

Postby ohfourteen_esq » Tue Oct 05, 2010 7:39 pm

I'm trying to figure out where to apply because my background isn't exactly traditional, and I think I qualify as a splitter. My numbers:

. 3.1 GPA, degree in communication studies from top public university
. Good internships and work experience while in school
. Teach for America for two years in NYC right after I graduated
. Air Force/AF Reserve after that as an officer, current rank of Captain w/ less than a year before my commitment is done (!!!)
. 168 LSAT score (could retake in Dec if absolutely necessary)

I have no strong preference on where to go to school/live after: I want a school that will leave me with the best career options possible and let me land in a big city, I'll go anywhere that does that. Dream job would be to work in-house for an NFL/MLB/NBA team, more realistic goal is to be a US Attorney (still competitive I know). I'll probably need a year to decide if I want public interest or something more like big-law.

So with all that, where should I apply? Attorney friends I've talked to have recommended Northwestern and UVA as my high targets. Do I have a chance there? Lawschoolnumbers says no, but does my work experience help me enough to make a difference? Anywhere higher ranked I should look at seriously? Schools I should focus on/safeties?

ToTransferOrNot

Re: 3.1, 168, good work experience/softs: Where to apply?

Postby ToTransferOrNot » Tue Oct 05, 2010 8:12 pm

Depending on how risk-averse you are, I would ED to either UVa or Northwestern (UVa would be the riskier proposition), and apply to CCN down through UCLA or so. Your softs are significant - the combination of TFA and military may take you places that your numbers alone would not.