University of Missouri Kansas City - ok school? Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
WayneRooney

New

University of Missouri Kansas City - ok school?

Post by WayneRooney » Wed Sep 22, 2010 12:30 pm

I was wondering about how University of Missouri Kansas City(UMKC) would be for law school. Kansas City isnt a bad size city - half million, 2 million including the burbs. A surprising number of large firms there. I also plan on staying in Missouri or Illinois.

Since I am a Missouri resident, and it is a state school, (and therefore graduating with relatively low debt), would this be a decent school to go for a decent job? decent for me is 65k a year plus.

Thanks all.

Aqualibrium

Gold

Re: University of Missouri Kansas City - ok school?

Post by Aqualibrium » Wed Sep 22, 2010 12:36 pm

I didn't even know the school existed. I will say though that if you have no dillusions about the fact that the only place you may get a job is in KC, and can attend with little or no debt, I can't see why it's a terrible option.

beachbum

Gold

Post by beachbum » Wed Sep 22, 2010 12:48 pm

Missouri resident here. I understand UMKC places decently in KC (at least, more so than its rank would suggest) and it faces little competition in the market. Of course, it's also a small market that's fairly saturated with UMKC grads- so your grades and connections will take on more significance than at many other schools. If you're set on working in KC, you might also apply to Mizzou.

Patriot1208

Platinum

Post by Patriot1208 » Wed Sep 22, 2010 1:48 pm

Mizzou is probably the better option. Also, SLU will give you more movement around the state or into illinois.

beachbum

Gold

Post by beachbum » Wed Sep 22, 2010 5:01 pm

Patriot1208 wrote:Mizzou is probably the better option. Also, SLU will give you more movement around the state or into illinois.