Law school with low overall ranking but good IP program Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
yggun

New

Law school with low overall ranking but good IP program

Post by yggun » Fri Sep 17, 2010 7:05 pm

I have a BSME (Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering) and am thinking about going to law school to become a patent attorney/litigator.

I received my BS in US, but being an ESL I am having a hard time even getting a 160 on LSAT practice exams (I have been consistently getting somewhere in the 150's). Although I graduated magna cum laude, President's Honor, and my undergrad cum GPA of 3.76 is viewed high in engineering, considering low LSAT score I could only imagine having a shot at T3 or T4 law schools. My questions are:

1. I read someone's post saying that it is very difficult to get a job unless you are one of the top graduates from T1 or T2 law schools. I am wondering if this is true for patent attorneys as well because 1) if it is, I really do not see any point in going to T3/T4 law school, spend $40,000~$50,000 a year for 3 years but find myself getting no job offer upon graduation and 2) I heard that demand for patent attorneys in US is very high so I was thinking patent attorneys from T3/T4 law schools may still get a few job offers.

2. Any idea a JD from strong program in a certain field like Patent/IP may put me in a better situation when I look for a job even though I am from T3/T4 law school? I am asking this because I have been thinking about applying to Santa Clara University law school which is located next to Silicon Valley and is ranked low overall but is claimed to have a strong IP program (its IP had been ranked among the top 10 by US N&W Report just until last year), but I heard that "law schools with high overall but low IP ranking are better than ones with low overall but high IP ranking" and SCU certainly is the latter.

Thank you all for taking your time and I look forward to reading your replies.