MS/JDs for IP law? Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
godofcoffee

New

MS/JDs for IP law?

Post by godofcoffee » Tue Sep 14, 2010 6:18 pm

I'm considering getting an MS (in computer science) and a JD in order to practice in IP law, specifically something computery. I've heard that you need an advanced degree to do this, so I was wondering... how advanced? If I got an MS, would that cut it? Or would a PhD be par for the course?

androstan

Gold

Re: MS/JDs for IP law?

Post by androstan » Tue Sep 14, 2010 6:53 pm

godofcoffee wrote:I'm considering getting an MS (in computer science) and a JD in order to practice in IP law, specifically something computery. I've heard that you need an advanced degree to do this, so I was wondering... how advanced? If I got an MS, would that cut it? Or would a PhD be par for the course?
I think computer science is a bit different, at least from what I've read/heard. I have no direct experience.

From what I know, if you're in molecular biology and biotech you need a Ph.D, period. However, if you're in engineering or chemistry you only need a B.S., although an M.Sc. can help too.

Computer science, I'm not sure. It's kind of on the cusp like chemistry because it's not engineering but it's not biotech, but it's not something useless/unmarketable either. I know there are many patent attorneys in the chemical arts with only a BS in chemistry. If I had to guess I'd say that a BS in compsci is "par for the course" but, like I said, an MSc can and does help.

r6_philly

Diamond

Post by r6_philly » Tue Sep 14, 2010 11:00 pm