Roman Law Study Group Wanted (Latin) !! Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
andmed

New

Roman Law Study Group Wanted (Latin) !!

Post by andmed » Sun Aug 15, 2010 8:27 am

Hi, All

Has anyone during study in law school come across or heard about advanced Latin seminars? Not anything like ordinary Latin language courses for the students, rather for the lecturers or law professors with fairly good knowledge of Latin, who regularly get together, read, discuss and translate in English those boring and perplexed Latin texts?

I live in a civil law country and here we have classical roman law texts study group. In our case it is grant-sponsored translation project, with core part made up by historians, who graciously let the law professors take part too, since they deal with the law texts. Although I am a lawyer and not a full-fledged participant of this high assembly, yet I love to be there.

I am considering now LLM in international law or SIPA-like study in the USA, and would give preference to the law school where I can find this kind of study/academic group on Roman Law.

Any information is welcome.

Andrey

Duralex

Bronze

Re: Roman Law Study Group Wanted (Latin) !!

Post by Duralex » Sun Aug 15, 2010 9:26 am

I'd be surprised if any American-based LLMs did this. Maybe some SJDs in their own research. The only discussion I've seen of law French and law Latin in English is in Tiersma's book (Legal Langauge) which is also what Garner points to in his books (Garner being a prominent American scholar of legal writing.)

You might look at schools in Louisiana, which has some civil law (although it is by way of France), or maybe look for American scholars who have worked on translation or annotation and figure out where they teach.....