Notre Dame's London Abroad Program?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
jmjmmorg

Notre Dame's London Abroad Program?

Postby jmjmmorg » Fri Aug 13, 2010 9:51 am

I'm an undergrad (4.0/166) in Indiana trying to decide on a school. I figure that with my numbers Notre Dame would be a solid option, and in terms of worst-case employment scenarios I have family members and friends in the Indiana/Ohio legal field who would be willing to help me out, so I'm not terribly worried about starving, working at Starbucks, etc.

I'm curious about whether anyone here can offer an honest assessment of Notre Dame's London abroad program. I spent time in London my sophomore year and really enjoyed it, and if this program opens doors for employment opportunities abroad then Notre Dame will definitely be my first choice. The main drawback would be that I'm a pretty liberal person (agnostic, queer, social activist) so I do wonder if the environment would be unpalatable. My UG school isn't exactly a liberal mecca either and I've coped, but ND does have a pretty intense reputation.

The Kid

Re: Notre Dame's London Abroad Program?

Postby The Kid » Fri Aug 13, 2010 11:44 am

Up. I´d like to know too.

theantiscalia

Postby theantiscalia » Fri Aug 13, 2010 11:49 am

I can't speak to London personally, but I've heard amazing things from people here on TLS. (I'm an incoming 1L at Notre Dame.) I'm strongly considering myself; I picked it over the transnational law program at WUSTL (where I went to UG) for the same reason.

Regarding fitting in on campus, my understanding is that it won't be a problem. I have several friends that went to UG at Notre Dame, and a couple in the law school. It is catholic, and that's unavoidable, but it is still a college campus (i.e. fairly liberal) filled with Generation Y (i.e. very tolerant).