Where should I ED? Should I ED?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Where should I ED?

ED to Northwestern
79%
ED to Georgetown
5%
ED to UCLA
5%
Do not ED anywhere
11%

Total votes: 19

Upton Sinclair

Where should I ED? Should I ED?

Postby Upton Sinclair » Sat Aug 07, 2010 5:54 pm

OK everyone, I'm finishing up applications and getting ready to apply in September. Need some advice.

I have ~3.4 GPA and a 170 LSAT. I graduated in December and will have 19-20 months of (unspectacular) work experience at matriculation. I am interested in BigLaw, but not married to the idea (particularly if I graduate with minimal debt). I am not overly picky about where I go to school or where I work after. Since my numbers are borderline at best for the schools I would most like to go to, I am considering an ED to help my chances. Where do you think I should ED, or should I not ED at all?

Option 1) ED at Northwestern and try to sneak in that way?
Option 2) ED at Georgetown/UCLA (probably a better shot than ED at Northwestern, but less payoff
Option 3) Forego the ED, and take my chances RD; then take advantage of scholarship offers at lower-ranked schools.

If I had my choice, I would want Northwestern/Chicago. I also have a legitimate network in D.C. I have a potential business opportunity/partner in L.A. I have good friends in all three cities.

That should be all the information you need. Let me know if there's anything else I'm neglecting that would help you make a choice if you were me. Explanations of your votes would be appreciated. Thanks everyone.

buckilaw

Re: Where should I ED? Should I ED?

Postby buckilaw » Sat Aug 07, 2010 6:02 pm

Northwestern loves applicants with work experience, if you ED there your chances are likely better than any other schools you have listed. Also, I would take Northwestern over GULC any day of the week; if anything you can expect a greater payoff from Northwestern than GULC.

Upton Sinclair