Undergrad Situation

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Eow

Undergrad Situation

Postby Eow » Thu Aug 05, 2010 10:44 pm

I am currently a student at Birmingham-Southern College (BSC), a small private school in Alabama. The school has recently undergone some financial problems, and with zero notice decided to cut several majors from the offered programs. One of which is my major, Accounting. I had originally chosen both BSC and Accounting strategically in hopes of adding some diversity to my resume come time to apply for LS. The school has made it clear that this upcoming year will be the last that students can graduate with an Accounting major from BSC. The conclusion I have come to is to transfer to stay an accounting major, primarily because I have loaded my first two years so heavily with accounting classes that it would set me back an unnecessary amount to stay and graduate with a different degree (Business Administration will be the only remaining program in the business realm of majors).

My question is, exactly how heavily does the undergraduate school name weigh into the LS admissions equation? I could transfer to Alabama, Auburn or North Alabama without struggling to finance the education at all, or is it worth taking out some loans to pay for a better undergrad accounting program like Georgetown, Baylor and Boston College?

If I were to stay close to home and go to the University of North Alabama I would have the opportunity to help manage a small business owned by a family friend, and have access to lots of accounting and law firm internships. The course load would also be much less demanding, freeing time for LSAT prep and resume padding. However, I'm also aware that UNA isn't exactly top-tier... not sure if its kind of any tier, ha.