Police Officer to Law School ?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
n4866b

Police Officer to Law School ?

Postby n4866b » Tue Jul 27, 2010 10:31 pm

Hello

Just found this forum.....

In the not so distant future (3 yrs) , I will be retiring at the "old" age of 48 as a Investigator/Detective from my major city police department. I have a Bachelors degree, however (this is 26 years ago) unfortunately my college days were spent chasing the opposite sex and consuming adult beverages. My GPA was 2.5.

Over the years I have become friends with various judges and prosecutors, who have offered to write letters for me. I assume this cannot hurt. I feel that my background in law enforcement and investigations would carry into a law career well, and serve me well as a trial attorney or criminal defense attorney.

Questions:

- Assuming I can score a decent LSAT, I am curious how the law schools would look at my application package and "profile".
- How "open arms" / warm reception would a older student get on a law school campus
- Etc

comments, ideas, welcome, thanks

legalease9

Re: Police Officer to Law School ?

Postby legalease9 » Tue Jul 27, 2010 10:44 pm

You'll be fine on the law school reception aspect. Everyone will probably treat you like anyone else in the school. And most people respect the police, even if they have hung up their uniform.

In terms of getting in, your GPA is going to kill you going to the top schools. Your experience will help, but that GPA is still going to harm you. What state are you in? Consider public schools in your state (cheaper). Plus a school in your state MAY look even more highly upon a long-term police officer from their state going to law school than an out of state school. Which schools you get into will be so completely LSAT dependent that its difficult to suggest anything specific until you have that official score.