Obtaining residency in a state for tuition purposes Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
williemayshayes

New

Obtaining residency in a state for tuition purposes

Post by williemayshayes » Wed Jul 21, 2010 8:16 pm

Hello all,

I'm sorry if there has alredy been a thread discussing this. I've been lurking in these forums for a long while, and I diligently searched the forums for a legitimate question asked along these lines and I could not find it.

One of my primary concerns with respect to attending law school will be the issue of state residency. I'm currently an Ohio resident and will be graduating from Ohio State, having lived here my whole life.

For law school, I'd really love to move to the Southern United States. NC and TX are the two states I'm pretty much narrowed down as possible destinations, for reasons ranging from the presence of family to the allure of the regions in question. UT Austin and UNC Chapel Hill are two of my favorite schools not named Ohio State (UNC due to a near-obsessive love of college hoops and an interest in going there ever since high school, and UTA due to multiple cousins going there and family in the area). From what I understand, it is not easy being newly classified as a resident of those two states.

I graduate in the spring of this coming year (June '11 to be exact), and plan to take a year off to do something ranging from getting the most entry level law firm job I can find, to full-time community service (Americorps State, Habitat for Humanity, etc. - stuff that allows me to work hourly on the side).

Could doing the above IN the state wherein I seek to obtain residency be a good way to go about demonstrating the "domiciliary intent" to be classified as a resident? If so, what hurdles can/should I cross before I put in an application?

If not, what can I do?

Thank you very much.

Regards,
Williemayshayes, The Ohio State University '11