No Jobs for You

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
NoJob

No Jobs for You

Postby NoJob » Tue Jun 29, 2010 11:45 pm

If you want any chance at a job, avoid anything below a T50. An obvious exception to this would be if you got a free ride.

I have been a lawyer for three years. I have to say that graduates of lower-tiered schools are sub par in abilities to say the least. They can't write a decent brief to save their lives nor do they have the ability to spot issues. Forget about research skills. My firm, in MI, won't touch a Cooley or U of D grad. In fact, we think that schools like Cooley are bringing down the profession. How good can a school be that invents its own rating system? Think about it.

What is more troubling is the debt you will incur. You can wind up six figures in the hole without the prospect of any legal employment. A lot of people I know are working at places like WalMart or temping or going into the military. These are very bright people from very good schools. There are too many of us, and the jobs just don't exist. You are also overqualified for most jobs, and I know of some people who have to take law school off their resume to get work.

Reconsider your decision to attend. Going to law school could be the worst thing that ever happened to you. I have no reason to lie to you unlike an admissions officer.

manbearwig

Re: No Jobs for You

Postby manbearwig » Tue Jun 29, 2010 11:48 pm

NoJob wrote:If you want any chance at a job, avoid anything below a T50. An obvious exception to this would be if you got a free ride.