Duquesne Law vs. Widener Law

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
PAStudent 2010

Duquesne Law vs. Widener Law

Postby PAStudent 2010 » Tue Jun 22, 2010 1:51 pm

I am a recent college graduate (May 2010) who attended a small private undergraduate institution in PA and graduated with a 3.8 overall GPA, 3 internships (large finance firm, large accounting firm, private equity), various awards / memberships / positions, yet scored low on the LSAT (153).

At this point I have been accepted to Duquesne Law as well as Widener Law (Harrisburg). It is my goal to one day practice corporate law (firm or in-house counsel), most likely near a metropolitan area. I am now choosing between one of the two schools or working for one year at most (as an Accountant) and reapplying with work experience besides internships.

My first question is which would be the better choice (Duquesne or Widener)?

My second question is between the two, will I be able to be successful in finding a job in corporate law with a salary high enough to pay off any student loan debt? (This is NOT saying I want to get rich by becoming an attorney, but rather get a job which will pay enough to cover student loans over a number of years and still be able to support a family sometime in the future).

My third question is would be be helpful in any way to wait one year and work / would it even make a difference in applying to schools?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!
Last edited by PAStudent 2010 on Tue Jun 22, 2010 3:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

D. H2Oman

Re: Duquesne Law vs. Widener Law

Postby D. H2Oman » Tue Jun 22, 2010 1:52 pm

Wait a year, retake.

/thread

stintez

Postby stintez » Tue Jun 22, 2010 1:53 pm

retake the lsat unless that was your third time.

romothesavior

Postby romothesavior » Tue Jun 22, 2010 1:57 pm

PAStudent 2010 wrote:My third question is would be be helpful in any way to wait one year and work / would it even make a difference in applying to schools?