JD/MBA Santa Clara

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
DaMan9000

JD/MBA Santa Clara

Postby DaMan9000 » Wed Jun 09, 2010 2:40 pm

Hey,

So I finished my 1L year at Santa Clara and I took my GMAT (710) and received admission into the MBA program as well. Santa Clara does not have a full time program, but their Executive and Part Time MBA are ranked in the Top15. If I want to practice in the Bay Area, or even LA, do you think it is worth it to pay my deposit for the MBA? I have no work experience, as I went to law school straight from undergrad (Top20 school). How about if I wanted to practice in NYC someday?

Thanks

merichard87

Re: JD/MBA Santa Clara

Postby merichard87 » Wed Jun 09, 2010 2:44 pm

What exactly are you planning on doing with the MBA? If you want to be a lawyer you need a law degree. If you want to work in business you would do well with an MBA. I have yet to run across a job description that requests a JD and MBA. And if Santa Clara doesnt have a full time MBA program that might be a signal of something. Just sayin.

DaMan9000

Postby DaMan9000 » Wed Jun 09, 2010 2:45 pm

To add: I have been lucky enough to have parents that are able to finance my law and business (if i choose) degrees. With that said, is it still worth it?

jarofsoup

Postby jarofsoup » Wed Jun 09, 2010 2:47 pm

The more education the better, what kind of law?

DaMan9000

Postby DaMan9000 » Wed Jun 09, 2010 2:52 pm

It makes sense that they don't have a full time program because most of the people that enroll are employees from companies located in Silicon Valley. I just feel that an MBA would open up some more doors for me and add a new dimension to my resume. I don't know if that is correct however.