Need advice from people who know what they are talking about

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
dewrober

Need advice from people who know what they are talking about

Postby dewrober » Wed Jun 09, 2010 1:57 pm

6 months ago I had my heart set on going to law school, regardless of cost. After reading posts on this message board for a few weeks, I was completely turned off to the idea (lack of employment prospects, mediocre salary, I've read all this on TLS before). However, I graduated from undergrad a month ago and have been solidly job hunting for months now with minimal luck. I am from Michigan and got partial scholarships to respectable in-state schools but like I said, I had turned a 180 and wasn't interested anymore so I didn't pay the deposits and have lost my seat at these schools. Here is where I currently stand:

I really need a job or a serious plan for my future and with a degree in Economics, it seems like the only thing I am able to get is a crappy job in sales. This is not the career track I want to head down. I am still on the wait list for several T2 schools part-time programs and have decided to reconsider. First off, I understand the amount of debt I will be in and the fact that I will likely not make myself "rich" taking this route. However, after realizing my alternatives (or lack there of) to law school, the idea of having a respectable career with a real salary is very appealing. Anyways, one of the schools I am considering is DePaul. Again, I would attend the PT program and would be working while going to school. How will going to school PT will affect my chances of getting summer internships? I know it is very important to pad the resume as much as possible.

Also, one more quick question. I have family in Wyoming and would be able to work out getting in-state tuition at Wyoming law. I am wondering if anyone knows how well a degree from Wyoming will do in the Denver area.