Need some advice, while considering I'm a Virginia resident.

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
scott88

Need some advice, while considering I'm a Virginia resident.

Postby scott88 » Fri Jun 04, 2010 11:15 am

Okay, just starting to get into the law school process seriously, and need some help here...

What is UVA's standard for in-state students. How does this potentially vary from numbers I might see on this forum that are posted by out-of-state students. Is there an appreciable difference? UVA really pisses me off in that they are a state school yet charge a fortune for state residents to attend. There's basically no break in price!

Same thing with William & Mary to an extent. Is there more of a "break" for in-state residents? How is W&M viewed in comparison to UVA, or even other schools of comparable reputation/ranking?

If I'd be happy practicing in Virginia, how do schools like George Mason and Richmond stack up to a UVA or W&M? Would it make sense to take a large scholarship from one of those and pass up a more highly ranked school?

Lastly, considering I'm open to practicing just about anywhere on the East Coast, be it Atlanta, Richmond, DC, Philly, NYC, Boston, etc., is there any further advice you can give me? Would going to NYU over UVA make sense? Would going to a good school in NYC protect me more against the potential of a continued recession and lack of law jobs (given the huge number of firms in NYC)? I presume I could always come back to somewhere like Richmond or DC with a degree from a top NYC school, but maybe not vice versa?

Any help or advice you can give would be appreciated. If there's something else relevant that I should know, don't restrict your answer just to questions addressed in this thread. Many thanks!

Re: Need some advice, while considering I'm a Virginia resident.

Postby 09042014 » Fri Jun 04, 2010 11:17 am

Easier, but you are still going to need a GPA over 3.85 and a decent LSAT, or a 170 with an okay GPA.