Hofstra (Full Ride)/ St. John's (Full Ride)/ Fordham Sticker

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
zelda1225

Hofstra (Full Ride)/ St. John's (Full Ride)/ Fordham Sticker

Postby zelda1225 » Fri May 21, 2010 1:41 pm

Hey, I have been reading this forum for a while but never posted. I would appreciate if someone could give me some advice on my situation. I have been offered full scholarships at both Hofstra and St. John's but no money at Fordham. I have lived in NY my whole life and will continue to do so after graduation. I just don't know if Fordham is worth the $140K I would be paying. I am slightly disappointed with no money at Fordham (I graduated UG with a 3.92 GPA and a 164 LSAT) but can I really be upset when I received full scholarships? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

SteelReserve

Re: Hofstra (Full Ride)/ St. John's (Full Ride)/ Fordham Sticker

Postby SteelReserve » Fri May 21, 2010 1:45 pm

Actually you should do some more searching because this very same question I believe was posed elsewhere; it looks like you're not alone.

Fordham is a fine school with decent placement but it still is not on par with the T14 in terms of employment prospects.

What I would do is check the stipulations for your Hofstra/St John's schollies. What are the chances you will lose that scholly? Would you be willing to drop out if you did?

Personally had I been in your shoes I would go St. John's full ride. Really it depends on the grade stip. If you decide St. John's vs Hofstra, I cannot see any advantage to Hofstra unless you live on long island and thus could save housing costs by living at home.

abodetti

Postby abodetti » Fri May 21, 2010 1:46 pm

St. John's

zelda1225

Postby zelda1225 » Fri May 21, 2010 1:59 pm

Oh I'm sorry, I used the search function but I guess I didn't see something that similar.

For Hofstra I have to be top 40% and St. John's top 50%. I think those are manageable but I could be wrong.