Chicago-Kent vs. Rutgers-Newark

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
inSouthAmerica

Chicago-Kent vs. Rutgers-Newark

Postby inSouthAmerica » Fri May 14, 2010 5:11 pm

Ok, so I just got off Chicago-Kent's wait list... with 30k per year renewable at 3.25, renewable at 15k at 3.0, OR 18k with no GPA reqs.

I'm in and deposited at Rutgers-Newark with 8k per year at 3.0. If I go to Rutgers, I will (at least for the first year) live with my parents and commute 45 minutes each way. I'm a NJ resident, but I haven't lived there for 6 years, and I live in Peru now.

assuming (perhaps erroneously) that I maintain my schollies,
Rutgers in-state and after scholarship is going to be about 16k+transportation+books.
Chicago-Kent is looking like 10k per year + living expenses + books.

My guess is that Chicago-Kent will come out 5k more expensive per year...
but I get to live on my own in Chicago...
I was set on and happy with Rutgers before this offer.
Should I be second guessing myself?

I love NYC and Jersey, but I'm a flexible person, and could see myself in Chicago. I don't know anything about Chicago though...

bk1

Re: Chicago-Kent vs. Rutgers-Newark

Postby bk1 » Fri May 14, 2010 6:15 pm

If you're happy with NJ then I would say Rutgers as it has less competition in NJ than Chicago-Kent has in Chicago.

get it to x

Postby get it to x » Fri May 14, 2010 6:21 pm

If living on your own is a huge deal and you're at the point in your life where you want to try something different U.S.-wise, I'd at least look into Chicago-Kent. Chicago is almost like New York. Depends on where you want to practice and what works best.

inSouthAmerica

Postby inSouthAmerica » Sat May 15, 2010 4:27 pm

so is it just a tossup for whichever makes me feel more comfortable, and since theres a lot less unknown for me with rutgers, rutgers would take the edge?

keg411

Postby keg411 » Sun May 16, 2010 9:06 pm