Fordham (sticker) vs W&L ($$)

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
maize'nblue

Fordham (sticker) vs W&L ($$)

Postby maize'nblue » Sat May 08, 2010 5:21 pm

As one may guess from the name, I am a 2010 graduate from the University of Michigan. My GPA was relatively unimpressive (3.25) but i did well on the LSAT (167 & 173; i took it in sept and again in dec because i knew i could've done better). I was originally dead set on corporate law (specifically mergers and acquisitions) but as of recently I've become more and more interested in entertainment law. No matter which I end up in though, I would by far prefer to work in either New York or LA.

In any case, because I retook the LSAT, I didn't send out applications until January. As it stands right now, I am debating between offers of admission to Fordham and Washington and Lee. W&L offered me approximately 50% tuition in scholarships (I would pay approx $38,000 per year) whereas at Fordham I would have to pay approx $70,000 per year (COL, books, etc). I've also been wait listed at NYU, UCLA, USC, Cardozo, Wash U, UC Hastings, and W & M. FYI, i declined offers at UC Davis (sticker), Santa Clara ($$) and St. John's (Sticker).

I am currently leaning toward Fordham due to my desire to pursue a career in New York City. However, I have already borrowed approximately $150,000 to finance my undergraduate education, and thus I have substantial financial concerns. At the same time, much of what I have read suggests that W & L's placement is limited to the Southeast region for all but the top 10%. Both have highly regarded corporate law programs, but in regard to entertainment law, Fordham's Intellectual property curriculum is T15.