Am I making a good decision?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
weis14

Am I making a good decision?

Postby weis14 » Fri May 07, 2010 10:54 pm

I would like comments on my decision to attend law school. I have been accepted into Indiana University Bloomington and have a nice scholarship which will cover the cost of tuition. I am married, so my wife will be able to help with COL and I don't have any undergraduate debt. I will graduate with about $50k in loans. I graduated from undergrad with a degree in Mechanical Engineering and intend to go into patent law. However, I am working at a mid size automotive company making about $55k / year with good prospects of advancement. however, I am not particularly interested in staying in my job as there are a lot of things I am frustrated with. Also, the auto industry is notorious for its up and down nature and just 2 years ago half of my department was laid off. Salary for mechanical engineers in this company tops out at about $70k.

I am quite excited about learning the law and practicing as an attorney. However, I am nervous about the debt / lost opportunity cost I will accumulate in law school. I am also nervous about quitting a good job ITE. Should I just stay where I am? Any thoughts are appreciated.

merichard87

Re: Am I making a good decision?

Postby merichard87 » Fri May 07, 2010 10:59 pm

EE/CE here. You have pretty good options for law school since you won't be incurring a massive amount of debt. With your situation I don't think it would be a bad decision for you to go to law school but in the end it would be about what you are most interested in. I don't think it would be a huge jump to assume you could start at that 70 - 80k (at minimum) right out of law school.

lostjake

Postby lostjake » Fri May 07, 2010 11:02 pm

Undergrad degree has a lot to do with prospects in patent law, keep that in mind.

yabbadabbado

Postby yabbadabbado » Fri May 07, 2010 11:03 pm