Reapplying Conundrum: Should I go for it? Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Cinderelly

New

Reapplying Conundrum: Should I go for it?

Post by Cinderelly » Fri May 07, 2010 1:04 pm

Hi everyone,

(Incredibly sorry this is so long)

I have submitted a deposit at one of the schools in the lower half of the T14 without a scholarship. I didn't receive any large scholarships at any lower-ranked schools so this school was by far my best option. After depositing I found a two-bedroom apartment nearby and signed the lease, figuring I could find another future 1L as a roommate. I was looking forward to law school and all was well.

Now I am questioning my decision and the $200,000 I am about to take on in debt (this site has had a lot to do with it). I believe I can improve from my current 167ish LSAT (I studied for less than two weeks, nonintensive, and my diagnostic was 167 cold), so I recently signed up for the June test. My plan is that if I score a 171+ I'll reapply and hope for a large scholarship in the T14 (my GPA is 3.9+). If my score doesn't improve I'll just suck it up and pay sticker where I've already deposited. However, if I wait until I get my June score back to make an ultimate decision and I end up attending this year, I wouldn't be able to start looking for a roommate until well into the summer. I can't afford to waste rent on a two-bedroom apartment if I am the only one living there and I'm worried I won't be able to find a roommate.

Pros to retaking with the goal of reapplying:
-My 167 underperforms my GPA and I have realistic chance at a scholarship if I can improve by a few points.
-I am already deposited at a T14 so I have a backup plan if the test doesn't go well.

Cons to retaking/reapplying:
-I either lose the housing deposit if I reapply or I may not be able to find a roommate if I end up not scoring well and stay where I am
-Lose the law school deposit
-What would happen to me if I can't find a job?