Illinois/Minnesota/Iowa

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Illinos/Mn/Iowa

Illinois(50% scholarship)
51%
Minnesota(50% scholarship)
12%
Iowa(100% scholarship)
37%

Total votes: 49

letsgo

Illinois/Minnesota/Iowa

Postby letsgo » Wed May 05, 2010 2:35 pm

It has come down to these three schools for me and i will really appreciate what TLS has to say about this.

I really want bigLaw and it doesnt really matter what city i get it in. I have some solid years of work experience
and i am interested in International Law and Business Law. I owe about 30k from my previous degrees but i am
not too concerned about the debt. Which of these schools do i have the best chance of getting bigLaw from.

Pls don't tell me to go to a T-14. I applied to only one and didn't get in.

romothesavior

Re: Illinois/Minnesota/Iowa

Postby romothesavior » Wed May 05, 2010 2:38 pm

letsgo wrote:It has come down to these three schools for me and i will really appreciate what TLS has to say about this.

I really want bigLaw and it doesnt really matter what city i get it in. I have some solid years of work experience
and i am interested in International Law and Business Law. I owe about 30k from my previous degrees but i am
not too concerned about the debt. Which of these schools do i have the best chance of getting bigLaw from.

Are you in-state for any of these schools?

And have you tried negotiating?

I think Illinois is the best for big law, but I'm not sure the difference in prospects is worth the cost difference. More info needed...

DerrickRose

Postby DerrickRose » Wed May 05, 2010 2:44 pm

If your only consideration is the likelihood of getting biglaw, then its Illinois, but you already know that.

But if you would only be satisfied with Biglaw?

A. You need to go to a T14, probably a T10, sorry.

B. Failing that, you need to take the full ride at Iowa so you can go do something else if you fail.

Iowa doesn't have dramatically worse Biglaw prospects than Illinois.