American University or William & Mary?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
danieltorrey

American University or William & Mary?

Postby danieltorrey » Thu Apr 29, 2010 3:29 pm

Hi everyone,

I am in a bit of a conundrum, I need your help in order to choose between American University and The College of William & Mary for law school.
Basically, my dilemma has to do with my background. I am a foreign attorney graduated in a civil law country; I wish to get a JD degree from a U.S. law school in order to have two countries in which I can practice law, in this way, I wish to focus on transnational/international/comparative law because those are the areas of the law where having two nation's bars (one civil law, the other common law) would make me "special" to employers.
So here we go, if I need to chose between American University, which is ranked 45th overall, and W & M, which is ranked 28th, which one should I pick? It would seem that W & M is the obvious choice (better ranked, cheaper, cheaper cost of living etc.). BUT, American University is ranked 8th nationwide on international law, and W & M is not even top 10.

So I guess, the point at issue is, which is more valuable, graduating from a school better ranked overall or better ranked in the specific field in which one wants to practice?

What do you guys (and gals) think?

Cheers.

webbylu87

Re: American University or William & Mary?

Postby webbylu87 » Thu Apr 29, 2010 3:30 pm

Scholarships?

A'nold

Postby A'nold » Thu Apr 29, 2010 3:35 pm

W&M, don't pay any attention to specialty rankings.

OneKnight

Postby OneKnight » Thu Apr 29, 2010 3:37 pm

The specialty rankings mean relatively little, if not nothing at all. Yeah, American stresses I-Law, which means there are more classes to take/professors with an interest in I-Law, but the William & Mary name will go farther and it still has plenty of courses on the subject. Definitely W&M IMO.

Blindmelon

Postby Blindmelon » Thu Apr 29, 2010 3:38 pm