NYU vs. UVA ($$)

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

NYU vs. UVA ($75k)?

NYU (no merit)
45%
UVA (Dean's Merit Scholarship $75k)
55%

Total votes: 40

anxiousacademic

NYU vs. UVA ($$)

Postby anxiousacademic » Sun Apr 25, 2010 10:25 pm

It's the 12th hour and I still haven't decided between NYU and UVA. My application is on reserve at Columbia. I'm a Cornell grad from NYC and intend to stay in the city after I graduate. However, I am seriously interested in clerking on the federal appeals level after graduation and then possibly entering academia. I'm not interested in big law. If I attend NYU, I'll graduate with $35k to $40k in debt. I like both NYU and UVA a lot. Is NYU worth it?

GeePee

Re: NYU vs. UVA ($$)

Postby GeePee » Sun Apr 25, 2010 10:27 pm

anxiousacademic wrote:It's the 12th hour and I still haven't decided between NYU and UVA. My application is on reserve at Columbia. I'm a Cornell grad from NYC and intend to stay in the city after I graduate. However, I am seriously interested in clerking on the federal appeals level after graduation and then possibly entering academia. I'm not interested in big law. If I attend NYU, I'll graduate with $35k to $40k in debt. I like both NYU and UVA a lot. Is NYU worth it?

Huh? Do you really have $150k to put toward your education?

anxiousacademic

Postby anxiousacademic » Sun Apr 25, 2010 10:31 pm

Yes, I do.

showNprove

Postby showNprove » Sun Apr 25, 2010 10:40 pm

NYU is better for the prestigious NYC biglaw firms, but you're not interested in that. UVa will get you into NYC easily--just not with the same kind of power at the top NYC firms, and possibly top NYC PI--and considering it places better into clerkships, I think UVa is the right fit for you. Of course, I'm sure a lot of people will disagree. If you want to come out of school debt free, all the doors you said you want to walk through will be open from UVa and NYU alike.

Postby 270910 » Sun Apr 25, 2010 11:39 pm