Am I crazy? UVa ($$$) vs. CLS Hamilton

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

What should I do?

CLS Hamilton
81%
UVa Dean's Scholarship
19%

Total votes: 70

theedge3143

Am I crazy? UVa ($$$) vs. CLS Hamilton

Postby theedge3143 » Sun Apr 25, 2010 3:21 pm

I've been a lurker here for a while, and I'd really appreciate the perspective of some people on this board. I'm in the really fortunate position of deciding between a full-tuition scholarship at UVa and the Hamilton fellowship at CLS.

I'd like to end up in DC after graduation, doing PI or gov't work (especially DOJ antitrust or FTC) but I'd be fine working at a firm in DC for a few years if that's what it takes to reach those goals. I'm pretty certain I don't want NYC biglaw, and DC is home to me.

I've been working for a few years and I've saved some money, so cost of living shouldn't be a problem.

I guess the difficult issue for me is NYC vs. C-ville. I'm really not crazy about living in New York and I've always found it overwhelming. At the same time, there's obviously a lot more resources/things to do there over C-ville and it could be a good experience for me living there. I went to UVa undergrad and so I've already had that experience. I really, really loved it there though, and I was thinking that its familiarity/comfort is a big plus considering the stresses and change of law school. I went to both ASWs and while I liked CLS well enough, I just loved UVa and was struck by how happy/relaxed the students seemed. Plus, it's not clear to me that CLS is much better at placing grads in DC (but I could be wrong about that.)

Am I crazy for even considering UVa at this point? I'm genuinely torn on this, and would really appreciate any thoughts.

lakerfanimal

Re: Am I crazy? UVa ($$$) vs. CLS Hamilton

Postby lakerfanimal » Sun Apr 25, 2010 3:24 pm