"Simple" Question: Should I go to Law School?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
nineteen80sbaby

"Simple" Question: Should I go to Law School?

Postby nineteen80sbaby » Mon Apr 12, 2010 5:47 pm

If I'm asking this question, I probably shouldn't go, right? ;)

But hear me out. My story:

I graduated from The University of Michigan, Dearborn in 2007.
with a B.A. in Journalism, 3.3 GPA.

I was an editor at a local alternative weekly (think The Village Voice) for about a year
until I was laid off - with the Detroit economy in shambles and all.

I was a great asset to this publication (they still wanted to me write for them, just couldn't pay me my salary [a big 20 k a yr - which I was happy with, because I was doing what I loved, and understood that I was starting out]. Most of my other colleagues subsequently left or were laid off/fired (very shady "Publisher" who might be facing legal action soon). And this is a position I had to fight for to make sure I had a journalism gig coming out of college. In my journalism program and classes, I was probably what you could call a "star" - being published in a paper already and working as a an editor during my last semester of college.

After being laid off, I started a temp assignment at a staffing company, and then was laid off again in 2009 when the economy got really bad. Now, I'm working in a high-end optical shop and have health insurance benefits and am making pretty much the same amount of money when I was an editor. I like it. I'm doing well there but want a real career and not a "job."

I still am doing some freelance writing (which is hardly enough to ever pay rent). I've contributed to a colleague's blog. I did a big cover story/interview with Eminem and Dr. Dre when Em came out with his "comeback" album last year (for the paper I was formally employed at - literally the publisher called me and said he wanted me to do it and had everything set up for me).