Are Davis and Hastings > UCLA, USC, ND, GULC...

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
sanpiero

Are Davis and Hastings > UCLA, USC, ND, GULC...

Postby sanpiero » Mon Apr 12, 2010 12:55 am

...for Bay Area mid/big law and clerkships?

jarofsoup

Re: Are Davis and Hastings > UCLA, USC, ND, GULC...

Postby jarofsoup » Mon Apr 12, 2010 1:01 am

I am no expert at this. But from being on here for long enough any top 14 school such as GULC will put you ahead of a lower ranked T1 like hastings or davis. I am also assuming that UCLA and USC are also better ranked and better choices and are california schools. In the bay area you are competing with Stanford and Cal. So UCLA and USC and GULC I think put you in a better place. I do not know about notre dame.

sanpiero

Postby sanpiero » Mon Apr 12, 2010 1:18 am

Looks like GULC and ND place about 10% on the west coast. This somewhat answers that part of the question. What about UCLA and USC? I'm inclined to say the opportunity to network while at Hastings alone goes a long way toward making it the better choice. Maybe it's closer to a toss-up btw Hastings/Davis/UCLA/USC for the Bay Area...what do you guys think?

JOThompson

Postby JOThompson » Mon Apr 12, 2010 1:28 am

I'd be interested to hear the TLS consensus on this too.

smov_operator

Postby smov_operator » Mon Apr 12, 2010 1:29 am

ucla,usc,gulc>davis,hasting>nd. I'd say something like that for big-mid firms only in bay area, (OFMA), and gulc>nd,ucla>davis, usc>hastings for clerkships

General Tso

Postby General Tso » Mon Apr 12, 2010 1:33 am

smov_operator wrote:ucla,usc,gulc>davis,hasting>nd. I'd say something like that for big-mid firms only in bay area, (OFMA), and gulc>nd,ucla>davis, usc>hastings for clerkships