Georgetown v UT-Austin (Law/Public Policy)

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Which one should I choose?

Poll ended at Fri Apr 16, 2010 8:44 pm

Georgetown
28%
UT-Austin
72%

Total votes: 32

Proximity

Georgetown v UT-Austin (Law/Public Policy)

Postby Proximity » Fri Apr 09, 2010 8:44 pm

Alright, here's the situation:

Assuming that I get rejected at Harvard (otherwise, my choice here is moot), I have narrowed my choice to these two schools. I'm fairly open to career options at this point, although my current leanings are towards working within the public sector, likely at the federal level, or taking private-sector work pertaining to energy and regulatory law.

I have received a relatively small scholarship from Georgetown's public policy program ($5000/yr), while UT's public policy program gave me their closest equivalent to a full ride and stipend ($9000 per semester, 3 semesters). In addition, since I am a Texas resident, the law tuition I'd have to pay each year is very low indeed.

Any preferences here? Strong ones? Weak ones? Random ones?

Gymnast0206

Re: Georgetown v UT-Austin (Law/Public Policy)

Postby Gymnast0206 » Sat Apr 10, 2010 11:43 am

Depends how much you need the money.

I was going to choose Georgetown hands down, until I saw your information about UT.

For me, I'd want to save the cash, so I'd go to UT . . . but I feel like Georgetown is more respected.

I guess it really depends on where you want to practice law.

Best of luck.

Pearalegal

Postby Pearalegal » Sat Apr 10, 2010 11:55 am

I'd say Texas. While Georgetown is in DC obviously, you'd be surprised at how my attorneys say that doesn't matter as much as you'd think for federal government and public policy type jobs (I'm guessing you're thinking you'd like to work in DC).