Rutgers-Newark vs. Seton Hall, + waitlists... help! Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Rutgers or Seton Hall?

Rutgers
82%
Seton Hall
18%

Total votes: 34

mhd08

Bronze

Rutgers-Newark vs. Seton Hall, + waitlists... help!

Post by mhd08 » Fri Apr 09, 2010 6:03 pm

Here's the deal: I'm a NJ resident and have been offered scholarships from both Rutgers-Newark and Seton Hall, and I'm having a hard time deciding on one. Rutgers has offered me $6,000/yr, renewable with a 3.0, + a $1,000 NJ state grant. Seton Hall has offered me $25,000/yr, renewable if I stay in the top 50% of the class. This makes tution equal for both, at $17,000 per year. I've heard better things about Rutgers (from both practicing attorneys and TLS), even though SHU is ranked a little higher. I also loved the faculty and students when I visited Rutgers. I'm just wondering if anyone has any insight on Rutgers vs. Seton Hall considering tuition is equal.

I'm also wondering if it's worth riding out any of the following waitlists and attending one of these schools over Rutgers and Seton Hall. I'm 99% sure I'll be paying sticker if I do get in: Temple, Cardozo, Brooklyn, William & Mary, and Washington & Lee. My feeling is no, with the exception of W&M.

Thanks for any and all advice!

Gymnast0206

Bronze

Re: Rutgers-Newark vs. Seton Hall, + waitlists... help!

Post by Gymnast0206 » Sat Apr 10, 2010 11:52 am

Ugh, tough choice. But, in your case, I'd choose Rutgers. It seems like you like it more and if money isn't an object for you then pay the deposit and see if you get into your WLs if you're willing to pay full (I wouldn't.)

aPosseAdEsse

Bronze

Post by aPosseAdEsse » Sat Apr 10, 2010 8:17 pm