Help! Turning down NYU for BU?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Where should I go?

BU
57%
NYU
43%

Total votes: 49

cboo

Help! Turning down NYU for BU?

Postby cboo » Fri Apr 09, 2010 2:43 pm

I could really use some advice. I have a PhD in the biological sciences and want to go into patent law. I live in Boston with my husband right now and he can't move because of his career. Would I be crazy to stay in Boston and go to BU instead of moving to New York alone? I have a couple of reasons for thinking this might be a good idea. The first is that, although I've gotten about the same amount of $ from both schools, I'd save about $15k a year by staying in Boston and living with him. The second is that I've heard that where you go to law school isn't as important in patent law. Oh, and I want to work in Boston when I graduate. Please help!

Blindmelon

Re: Help! Turning down NYU for BU?

Postby Blindmelon » Fri Apr 09, 2010 2:46 pm

Same amount of $ at both? Can you ask try to get more out of BU? What are you career aspirations, etc.

dakatz

Postby dakatz » Fri Apr 09, 2010 2:49 pm

Don't let the ranking-obsession of this board fool you. Sometimes its not about just "going to the best school you get into". Its about going to the best school you get into that is right for you. And in this case, BU sounds much more right for you than NYU. You live in Boston, have a husband in Boston, want to stay in Boston upon graduation, and BU will cost you less overall. That combination of factors trumps the mere high ranking of NYU in my opinion. Staying in Boston will allow you to form a network of contacts in the city. If you do indeed wish to work there upon graduation, this can prove invaluable. This is one of those rare cases where the lower-ranked school is simply the "right" choice for you.

WhatToDo21

Postby WhatToDo21 » Fri Apr 09, 2010 2:50 pm