Help me decide: GMU v. FSU v. Indiana Bloom Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

GMU or FSU or IUB?

GMU
No votes
FSU
60%
IUB
40%

Total votes: 10

ram jam

Bronze

Help me decide: GMU v. FSU v. Indiana Bloom

Post by ram jam » Thu Apr 08, 2010 11:06 am

I am a Florida Resident. In-state tuition at FSU is dirt cheap. I was not awarded in $ from GMU or FSU. I would pay full out of state sticker at GMU.

FSU is overall the cheaper option. However, I would like to live/work in D.C. is GMU worth it?

I have been accepted by Indy - Bloom, but I am not interested in working in the Midwest. No info on money as of yet.

Seat deposits are due next week.

Any opinions?
Last edited by ram jam on Fri Apr 09, 2010 4:18 pm, edited 4 times in total.

FunkyJD

Silver

Re: GMU v. FSU

Post by FunkyJD » Thu Apr 08, 2010 11:26 am

ram jam wrote:I am a Florida Resident. In-state tuition at FSU is dirt cheap. I was not awarded in $ from GMU or FSU. I would pay full out of state sticker at GMU.

FSU is overall the cheaper option. However, I would like to live/work in D.C. is GMU worth it?

Seat deposits are due next week.

Any opinions?
Here's the problem with paying sticker at GMU: Cost of attendance at GMU, at OOS sticker, is going to run well over $150k, no?

Do you intend to go into public service? What kind of public service loan assistance/LRAP plan does Mason have? If so, it might be worth it. Maybe. If you absolutely have to be in DC, or bust. Maybe.

On the other hand, if you hope to go into biglaw in DC from Mason ... hmm ....

http://pdfserver.amlaw.com/nlj/composite.pdf (see page 5)

So, what are your career aspirations and expectations upon graduation from law school?

ram jam

Bronze

Post by ram jam » Thu Apr 08, 2010 11:31 am

Thanks for the insight!

I'm hoping to either work in a firm, not necessarily biglaw, or the federal government. I would like to live/work in D.C., although, it is not DC or bust.