Cornell vs. BU Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Cornell vs. BU

Poll ended at Sun Apr 11, 2010 3:30 pm

Cornell (95K Total Debt)
60%
BU (25K Total Debt)
40%

Total votes: 62

dakatz

Gold

Cornell vs. BU

Post by dakatz » Sun Apr 04, 2010 3:29 pm

So Cornell just came through with a little scholarship, and was wondering for some opinions on this particular matchup. I also have a Chicago acceptance, but I'm pushing that aside for now so that I can do the pros/cons of just these two schools. People may have read my threads before about trying to pick a school, but I'll repeat some of the key stuff.

-I was an undergrad at BU and am very comfortable in the city. I have many friends and contacts there.
-I am from the NJ/NY area and would ideally like to work somewhere in the mid-Atlantic region upon graduation, though I wouldn't mind being in New England.
-I don't really know what I would like to do upon graduation. I'm not dead-set on biglaw or anything like that, though I wouldn't mind at least having that option available.
-I don't mind cold weather, or the environment of Ithaca. I went to visit and found the town/campus very nice and conducive to study.

Bottom line is, after calculating all my expenses and factoring in the money I saved up and the scholarships I earned, Cornell would put me around 95K in debt, and BU would leave me about 35K in debt. I am in negotiation with BU to increase this scholarship. If they bump it a sufficient amount, then the situation changes. But, I'd like to hear your thoughts on the current scenario.
Last edited by dakatz on Mon Apr 05, 2010 5:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

dakatz

Gold

Re: Cornell vs. BU

Post by dakatz » Sun Apr 04, 2010 3:47 pm

Bumping this up so people keep voting. Thanks. Btw, Happy Easter to everyone celebrating.

dakatz

Gold

Post by dakatz » Sun Apr 04, 2010 4:34 pm