Frequent poster...desparately need adivce about something

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
lookingforadvice

Frequent poster...desparately need adivce about something

Postby lookingforadvice » Mon Mar 29, 2010 3:37 pm

Hey guys,

I wasn’t sure which forum to post this in so sorry if it’s off-topic. I’m a frequent poster here but I decided to open a new account post this in order to preserve some anonymity. Anyway, I had a question that I thought you all might be able to help me out with.

Basically, I graduated summa cum laude from UCLA in the Spring of 09 with a degree in poli sci and was planning on attending HLS this Fall. I decided to take a year off before starting law school because I graduated a year early and wasn’t quite ready to start school again. However, because my schedule was super-compressed into 3 yrs, I didn’t have enough time during my senior year (my 3rd yr) to look for a job. So I ended getting a low-paying job as a legal assistant in a law firm back home (SF Bay Area).

So I was getting by just fine until recently when my mom lost her job. We don’t have much savings, so things are getting really tight (we’re cutting back a lot and we’re moving to smaller place because we can’t afford the rent) and I’m pretty sure that I’m going to have to defer my admission to HLS for a year in order to work to help support my family.

The problem is that my current job is very low-paying (~$15/hr.) and it’s making it difficult to make ends meet (I’m the only one working in our house…my younger brother is in HS and like I said, my mom has been out of a job for a few months).