Looking for TLS Opinion Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Which School?

Univ. of Cincinnati (6,500/year)
39%
Case Western (20,000/year)
48%
Buffalo (5,000/year)
13%
Hofstra (25,000/year)
No votes
Albany Law (20,000/year)
No votes

Total votes: 31

firebreathingliberal

Bronze

Looking for TLS Opinion

Post by firebreathingliberal » Mon Mar 29, 2010 11:58 am

Before Voting Consider this:

I want to practice PI law, including criminal, gov't, non-profit, etc

Cincinnati has the Graduate Metro Rate allowing me to get instate tuition + $120 in my first year (About 21k) plus the scholarship

I have visited every school except Hofstra and would feel comfortable living in any of these places

I am a NY resident so I would get instate at Buffalo (about 16k) plus the scholarship

I don't care about BigLaw or where I practice.

Thanks for your input and your votes.

Also, I am on the wait list at W&M and Iowa. I really don't know what I would do if I committed to a school, set up shop in that city, then got a call from W&M saying ive been accepted in August. Any input on that would be helpful as well.
Last edited by firebreathingliberal on Thu Apr 01, 2010 2:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

TTH

Diamond

Re: Looking for TLS Opinion

Post by TTH » Mon Mar 29, 2010 12:01 pm

I'm not willing to ride out any waitlists, but that's because I have an SO and she needs to make plans as much as I do.

I'd pick Cincinnati. I dig the small class sizes and the relatively cheap tuition.

darknightbegins

Silver

Post by darknightbegins » Mon Mar 29, 2010 1:45 pm

Take Case, even though you are riding at more debt. You may change your mind about what kind of law as you get olde (like you get married and have a family and that pay check doesn't go as far as when you were a bachelor).