LSU vs. Oklahoma

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Cemoore4

LSU vs. Oklahoma

Postby Cemoore4 » Thu Mar 25, 2010 12:05 am

My situation:

I am a Louisiana resident. I received a 50% scholarship to LSU with a top 1/2 stipulation which makes tuition pretty low per year (I think around 7k/yr). I have also been accepted to OU with a Out-of-state fee waiver. I would be paying roughly 16k/yr.

ALSO, I really want to get into the Dallas market when I graduate. To clarify, I would be fine if I graduated and had to work in Baton Rouge or Oklahoma City.

So, which school do you think would give the best chance for the Dallas market, AND if that answer is OU, is it worth the extra tuition??

Thanks in advance

maxpayne

Re: LSU vs. Oklahoma

Postby maxpayne » Thu Mar 25, 2010 12:31 am

Did you apply to SMU? The general concensus is that if you want Dallas, then UT or SMU. You will be struggling to land a job in Dallas right out of law school if you go to LSU.

Cemoore4

Postby Cemoore4 » Thu Mar 25, 2010 12:34 am

Ah, I just sent you a PM. Yes, I did apply to SMU, but I have been application complete since 2/3 and haven't heard anything. My numbers are 161, 3.28. I think I have a small shot at FT and a decent shot at PT (applied to both). So, I am still waiting, but seat deposit deadlines are nearing and I don't have the cash to be throwing at multiple schools haha.

D. H2Oman

Postby D. H2Oman » Thu Mar 25, 2010 12:52 am

College football?

Cemoore4

Postby Cemoore4 » Thu Mar 25, 2010 1:06 am

If based on football, then I'd be at LSU in a minute. Nothing like a Saturday in Death Valley.

darknightbegins

Postby darknightbegins » Thu Mar 25, 2010 6:41 am

Yeah SEC football is a beautiful thing. For some reason I give a slight edge to Oklahoma if you want to work in Texas over LSU. But don't take this to the bank. If I were you I'd probably take the money, and less debt, and go to LSU. Plus I'd rather live in Baton Rouge than Oklahoma City.

Cemoore4