BU/BC vs. Emory vs. ND? Help me Choose!!!

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

BU vs. Emory vs. BC vs. ND?

BU
49%
Emory
14%
BC
17%
ND
19%

Total votes: 77

googado

BU/BC vs. Emory vs. ND? Help me Choose!!!

Postby googado » Mon Mar 15, 2010 11:51 am

Okay.. I am an international, non-trad. student with a family.. I have no affiliations whatsoever at any of these places.

I have just been admitted to BU so I have just added the school to the equation... I have never been to the U.S. except a week-long visit to N.Y... That's it, so I have no idea how Boston/Atlanta/South Bend are, but I have heard that Boston's a good and safe place to live (but relatively high COL). Also that the area around Emory in Atlanta's pretty good as well (1 Bed=$1,000?). No one around me seems to knows where ND is,,.. If I tell my relatives that I am going to ND, they will probably think that I am studying in France. I have heard South Bend has low COL, but also that 2L and 3L at ND are having a hard time getting a job.

My goal is to gain 3~4 years of experience at biglaw (or clerkship initially), and after a couple of years, come back to my home country as a member of the biglaw or get a job at a local lawfirm with the experience. I am aware that BU/BC has better biglaw placement than ND, and ND than Emory.. but I also need to think about my family, COL, and the overall prestige of the school for when I come back to my home country.